My trip to Paris!

haley lester
3 min readFeb 1, 2021

--

It has always been a dream of mine to adventure to Paris. From all of the books, movies, and magazines that revolve around the beautiful city, my standards were set high. Reluctantly I can tell you it exceeded my expectations. I was worried about trying to navigate my way around the city. If you do not have a phone or a GPS, Paris might seem like a maze at first. It has 20 districts and all of the street names are similar and impossible to pronounce. However, transportation and travel was fairly easy. No matter where you get lost, if you walk a bit you will find a metro sign or bus station with a map of the city. As long as you know your destination, getting around with public transportation is very easy regardless of your language or where you are from.

Food and dining time is a top priority for the French, regardless of the meal or time of day. They take it very seriously and spend a lot of time preparing and eating their meals. At every restaurant I went to, my food came out looking like an art piece and was absolutely delicious. I could tell there was lot of love and hard work put into every meal. However, eating out and food in general is beyond expensive in Paris. But most foods and dining areas in Paris are not only a meal, they are an experience. So in my opinion I see the cost reasonable considering the amazing flavors and time put into each meal.

The attractions and art work were also mind blowing. I was able to see some of the most well known and praised landmarks in the world. For example a few of my activities there included, climbing the Eiffel tower, touring the Louvre museum, and even visiting the Notre Dame cathedral. The views and experiences were one of a kind. Paris is also the capitol of art, known as the City of Light. From its beautiful museums and buildings, there is also artwork almost everywhere you look in Paris. From intricate paintings on the sides of buildings and world famous art work, to musicians playing music at the ends streets and even something as small as the food you are eating. Art is everywhere. It is thriving and is what keeps the city of Paris alive. Fashion also plays a big part in the Parisian culture and ties tightly with the art aspect of Paris. Most of the major French fashion brands, such as Chanel, Louis Vuitton, Dior, and Lacroix, are currently headquartered there. Everyone on the streets of Paris was nicely dressed and probably put a lot of thought into their outfits. Overall, I was so sad to leave Paris and I enjoyed all of my unique and beautiful experiences there!

SOURCES:

Herlihy, S. “Paris Tourism Facts.” USA Today, Gannett Satellite Information Network, 15 Jan. 2019, Paris Tourism Facts (usatoday.com) traveltips.usatoday.com/paris-tourism-facts-15178.html.

Denig, Vicki. “38 Things You Need to Know Before Your First Trip to Paris.” Thrillist, Carrie Dennis, 28 Feb. 2019, 6:12 pm, www.thrillist.com/travel/paris/visiting-paris-everything-you-need-to-know.

--

--